The time is the 1950s, the place is Berlin
Voices Under Berlin: The Tale of a Monterey Mary
 
The 9539th does to the Secret Cold War
what the 4077th did to the Korean War
Now available in Europe
by T.H.E. Hill
a Field Station Berlin AuthorTeufelsberg
Voices Under Berlin - Cloak and Dagger Headpones
Cloak and Dagger Headphones
Hollywood Book Festival Award Winner, Military Writers' Society Book of the Month, Branson Stars & Flags Book Award Winner, Puss Reboots Top 10 Books for 2009, PODBRAM Best Historical Concept, NIEA Book Award

2011 Indie 500 Booklist

Branson Stars and flags Book Award

NIEA Book Award

BerlinBrigade.com Book of the Month January 2013

TANS 2012 Old Spooks and Spies AwardClick on the TANS certificate to learn more about this award.

Win a copy of Voices Under Berlin in our Cryptologic Contest.

The novel is ostensibly set against the backdrop of the Berlin Tunnel (Operation GOLD, covername: PBJOINTLY). The yarn is told from both ends of the tunnel. One end is the story of the Americans who worked the tunnel, and how they fought for a sense of purpose against boredom and the enemy both within and without. This side of the story is told with a pace and a black humor reminiscent of that used by Joseph Heller (Catch-22) and Richard Hooker (M*A*S*H*). The other end of the tunnel is the story of the Russians whose telephone calls the Americans are intercepting. Their end of the tale is told in the unnarrated transcripts of their calls. They are the voices under Berlin.

Writing on his website www.SpyWise.net, Britton calls Voices Under Berlin "a spy novel that breaks all the molds," adding that "in the tradition of Greene and Ambler, 'Voices Under Berlin' contains many literate qualities that make it a work of special consideration, worthy of an audience much broader than that of espionage enthusiasts or those interested in Cold War history. In fact, one indication of the book's quality is that it was among the award winners at the July 2008 Hollywood Book Festival, a very rare honor for a spy novel."

Follow me to read more of Dr. Britton's review.

The author served at Field Station Berlin in the early 1970s, after a tour at Herzo Base. He is a three time graduate of the Defense Language Institute in Monterey, California, the alumni of which are called "Monterey Marys."


Check out T.H.E. Hill's latest novel, The Day Before the Berlin Wall. Released on 9 November 2010, the 21st Anniversary of the Fall of the Berlin Wall.

Day Before the Berlin Wall Warning Sign

13 August 2014 marks the Fifty-third Anniversary of the Construction of the Berlin Wall, and the twenty-fifth Anniversay of the Fall of the Wall.
Find out about the Cinderella Stamps that commemorate the fiftieth Anniversay of the construction.


Now Available
for the fiftieth anniversary of the first permanent SIGINT collection presence on Teufelsberg, the operational home of Field Station Berlin

Hill's new Novel:
Reunification: A Monterey Mary Returns to Berlin

Reunification A Monterey Mary Returns to Berlin
To learn more, click on the cover image.

The "Book of the Month" for "Summer 2013" at BerlinBrigade.com

Stars and Flags Gold Book Award 2013

Winner of the Stars and Flags Gold Award in the category "General Fiction" for 2013.


Learn more about our Cinderella Stamps Americans in Berlin Cinderella Stamps pages
Learn more about our Filed Station Berlin Skyline Monuments poster
Field Station Berlin Skyline Monuments
project

Learn more about our Field Station Berlin Bronze Plaque Commemorative Initiative
Field Station Berlin Commemorative Bronze Plaque Initiative

Participate in our Cryptologic Contests The Army SIGINT Great Seal.



copyright bar
2008 Hollywood Book Festival Award Winner